You are here

Hayman-Howard-Wright Scholarship


The MPA Alumni Association established the scholarship in honor of three MPA faculty members: Donald Hayman, Kenneth Howard, and Deil S. Wright. The award honors their spirit of innovation and contributions to the growth and success of the program.

Donald B. Hayman (1919–2010) had a 40-year career at the Institute of Government (now the School of Government), during which time his research led to the adoption in North Carolina of the council-manager form of government. Kenneth Howard pioneered budgeting improvements in North Carolina and served as the MPA program director from 1968–1973. Deil S. Wright (1930–2009) was internationally recognized as a leading authority on intergovernmental relations and served as MPA program director from 1973–1979


All students are eligible for this scholarship based on their academic background and areas of interests upon their admittance into the MPA Program.

Award Information

For more information about this award, contact MPA staff member Susan Lynch at


To support the Hayman-Howard-Wright Scholarship, visit our giving page.